State Laws

Maine Credit Repair Laws.

Maine currently has legislation pertaining to credit repair. These laws apply to the state that the consumer is located in, not the credit repair company. Keep this in mind if you plan on doing business out of state.

**DISCLAIMER - The following information is not legal advice. We strive to keep all information updated to the best of our knowledge but regulations are subject to change frequently, without our immediate awareness. The information on this page may not be 100% accurate. We strongly urge you to do your own research and to consult with a legal professional or your local legislators before making any decisions. 


Registration Requirements.

Some states require registration with the overseeing entity. There may also be municipal or county regulations regarding business licensing or permits depending on your location. Consult with your local government to determine licensing requirements. 

Registration required?


Fee for registration?


Additional fees?

Re-licensing $300, additional $20 for each additional loan officer, up to $400.

Link to registration requirements?

§ 10-201


Bond Requirements.

Surety bonds are required in certain states in order to prove that the credit repair organization is operating in an ethical manner. The amount and requirements vary from state to state.


Contract Requirements.

All credit repair organizations are subject to both state and federal regulations. According to federal law, the Credit Repair Organizations Act (CROA) requires all CRO's to provide contracts outlining the terms and descriptions of their services to their customers. Each individual state has different requirements regarding the language of those contracts.

Attorneys exempt?


CPAs exempt?

Not listed.

Financial advisors exempt?


Mortgage lenders/ Originators exempt?


Real estate agents exempt?

Not listed.

Non-profits exempt?


Non-profit exemption details, restrictions?

None specified.

Leave A Comment :